Travelling residents in two more N.W.T. communities can isolate at home News Staff

YELLOWKNIFE — Residents of the Northwest Territories who are from Norman Wells and Fort Simpson can now self-isolate at home if they leave the territory. 

A previous public-health order required anyone who left N.W.T. to isolate for 14 days in Yellowknife, Fort Smith, Hay River or Inuvik.

The territory’s chief public health officer, Dr. Kami Kandola, says the order was changed because Norman Wells and Fort Simpson both have a wastewater surveillance program to test for COVID-19.

The two communities also have adequate medical resources to support new infections.

Kandola says only residents of Normal Wells and Fort Simpson will be allowed to self-isolate there.

They must also submit a self-isolation plan to the territory’s public-health office.

There are currently two active cases of COVID-19 in the territory.

The Canadian Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *